Do you know a nurse in Nebraska who is an NNA member that has made an incredible impact on the nursing profession, shown extraordinary achievement, or influenced nursing with their skills and knowledge? The Nebraska Nurses Association is looking for nominations for our annual NNA Awards


The nominee must be an NNA member in good standing. An individual having personal knowledge of the nominee’s abilities and contributions that reflect the focus of the specific award should write the letter of nomination (self nominations accepted). Two letters of support are required with each application – a self nomination will have 3 letters (self nomination letter and 2 more letters of support). Please include the nominee’s credentials in the letters of nomination. A curriculum vitae or resume is helpful but not required.

Deadline for submitting nominations to the Conventions Awards Committee is August 25, 2023.

 Nurse of the Year

This award focuses on outstanding achievement in nursing over a one-year period. The nominee must be directly involved in nursing through clinical practice, education, administration, or research and have made a positive impact on the quality of nursing care or the nursing profession.

 Extraordinary Achievement in Nursing

This award focuses on achievement in nursing over a cumulative number of years. There must be evidence of significant contributions to nursing at the local, state or national level.

 NNA Award for Distinguished Service

This award focuses on the nominee’s service to the NNA at the district or state level over the past year.

 Notable New Nurse

This award focuses on outstanding achievement in nursing by an RN practicing for five years or less since graduation from an entry level Registered Nursing program.

 Excellence in Direct Patient Care

The focus of this award is on achievement in nursing by a nurse providing direct patient care. The nominee is recognized for nursing expertise provided in a caring, professional manner.

 NNA Hall of Fame

NNA has established the Nebraska Nursing Hall of Fame to honor those nurses who through their work, scholarship and accomplishments have brought honor and fame to the profession of nursing and the State of Nebraska. Such a Hall of Fame serves as a memorial to the legacy of those nurses on whose shoulders we stand. This award recognizes outstanding nursing leaders who have demonstrated excellence through sustained, lifelong contributions to the field of nursing and its impact on the health and/or social history of Nebraska. Patterned after the American Nurses Association Hall of Fame, NNA’s Nebraska Nursing Hall of Fame will be a permanent and lasting tribute to nurses whose dedication and achievements have enduring value beyond their lifetime.

Criteria & nominations at: https://nebraskanurses.org/hall-fame-nomination/

 Outstanding Nurse Educator

This award focuses on achievement by a nurse whose primary role is as an educator. The nominee must be directly involved in patient education, nursing education, continuing education or staff development. The award recognizes innovation and expertise in the educator role.


 Gail Graham Higher Education Scholarship

This scholarship is being offered in memory of Gail Graham, sister of NNA member Jacy Henk. Recipient must be a member in good standing of NNA/ANA. Must be pursuing a higher degree in nursing. RN to BSN, MSN, DNP, PhD, EdD. One $500 scholarship.

Essay topics:

  • What is your philosophy of patient safety?
  • How does patient safety fit in with the quality of healthcare?
  • How can Nebraska nurses influence patient safety through initiatives at the local, regional, state, and national levels?

NNA Member Scholarship

The NNA embraces the belief that we, as members of our professional organization, are committed to developing others in the continuing pursuit of excellence in scholarship, clinical practice, research and professional involvement. To honor that commitment, a NNA Scholarship is made available to nurses enrolled in a Bachelor (must already be an RN), Masters, or Doctorate program in Nursing who possess the ability to assume or continue a leadership role in nursing. One $1000 scholarship.

Arthur L. Davis Scholarship

Through the generosity of the Arthur L. Davis Publishing Agency, the Nebraska Nurses Association will grant two (2) $500 scholarships to Nebraska pre-licensure nursing students. Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • A resident of Nebraska
  • Enrollment in an accredited nursing program in Nebraska (the nursing program must be accredited).
  • 3.0 GPA (official transcripts required; should be emailed/mailed directly from the college/university)
  • Completion of at least 12 credits of core nursing science courses (listed as nursing courses on course catalogue or transcript) required by the degree granting institution.
  • 2 letters of recommendation (at least 1 from a faculty member)
  • An essay of not more than 500 words relating to:
    1. Future professional nursing goals, and
    2. How membership in the Nebraska Nurses Association will facilitate achievement of your
      professional goals and promotes the profession of nursing?

Scholarship recipients will be recognized during the NNA Annual Conference Awards Banquet in October. Scholarship applicants and recipients are encouraged to attend. Recipients and one guest will have their banquet fee paid for them. All application materials must be received by September 1st. Watch the NNA website for additional scholarship announcements.