In the beginning of 2013, several state nurses associations (SNAs) formed a collaborative, namely the Midwest Multistate Division (Midwest MSD), with the goal of promoting efficiencies and growth. This is a collaboration of four states from the Midwest, including  Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska. Each SNA will retain its own state identity while utilizing shared resources within the Midwest MSD. The Midwest MSD will provide unified tools and technologies and streamlined resources, while taking advantage of ANA capabilities and resources in order to strengthen each SNA.

As part of this collaborative, the Midwest Multistate Division Continuing Nursing Education Unit (Midwest MSD CNE Unit) was formed, and we are currently working to streamline applications, combine staff resources, and meld policies and procedures for the new Midwest MSD Accredited Approver unit.

The Midwest Multistate Division is accredited as an approver and provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation (ANCC COA).

The Midwest MSD offers two approval processes for agencies/organizations/facilities to utilize to obtain continuing nursing education for programs they provide:

  • Individual Education Activities: Organizations interested in awarding nursing contact hours for one, single educational activity or conference
  •  Approved Providers: Organizations interested in receiving approval to award nursing contact hours for multiple educational activities provided to nurses within their organization or their target audience.