2023 Nebraska Nurses 40 Under 40

As a joint recognition, the Nebraska Organization of Nursing Leadership (NONL) and the Nebraska Nurses Association (NNA) selected 40 nurses under 40 years old that are currently licensed as an RN or LPN  from across the state of Nebraska. These awardees were recognized at the Nebraska Nurses Association Annual Convention at the Cornhusker Hotel in Lincoln on Saturday October 7, 2023. 

“There are a lot of publications and organizations nationwide that do similar nominations each year,” says NNA Executive Director, Kim Houtwed. “We wanted our nominees to stand apart as a group of young professionals who significantly or uniquely contribute to leadership within the nursing profession through clinical practice, education and teaching, administrative leadership, research, writing/publishing, policy involvement/self-governance, and/or healthcare innovation. Additionally, “They positively promote and advance the nursing profession in the community (local/regional/national/global) through volunteerism or outreach efforts and are involved in local/state/organizational policy development or legislative work.

About 40 Under 40
Beginning in June, the NONL and NNA  accepts nominations to begin its search for 40 Under 40 candidates. During the next three months, the two associations’ review committee evaluate blinded nominations and look for nurses who represent the next generation of nursing leaders. The honorees are then recognized in October at the NNA Annual Convention Awards Breakfast.

Congratulations to the 2023 40 Under 40 Awardees !

Awardees Left to Right:

Front Row: Haley Hays-UNMC Scottsbluff, Madelyn Vogel-Methodist Omaha, Alyssa Allbright-CHI Omaha, Brooke Schmitt-CHI Grand Island

Second Row: Chelsea Ehlers-CHI, Omaha; Michelle Peacock-Methodist, Omaha; Jessie Ferris-Methodist, Omaha; Savannah Henn-Antelope Memorial, Neligh.

Third Row: Megan Mcclusky-Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Amber Golden -UNMC, Omaha; Karissa Thompson-Methodist, Omaha; Richard Villarreal-Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Erin Jordan Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Jennifer Miller-UNMC, Lincoln.

Fourth Row: Kristen McCall-Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Melissa Buman-Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Staci-Kolm- Faith Regional, Norfolk; Shannon Saladee-Hatfield-H3C; Omaha.

Fifth Row: Adrian Tasa- Columbus Community Hospital, Columbus; Tiffany Wenande- Faith Regional, Norfolk; Jocelyn Ramos-Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Morgan Matteo-Faith Regional, Norfolk; Alyson Hanish-UNMC, Omaha; Ashley Kennedy-Bryan College of Health Sciences, Lincoln; Jackie Weise-Bryan College of Health Sciences, Lincoln.

Sixth Row: Elizabeth Atwood-Lexington Regional, Lexington; Brittany Hueftle-Lexington Regional, Lexington; Shelby Shipp- CHI, Kearney; Liz Jones-Brookestone View, Broken Bow; Amber Kavan-Nebraska Hospital Association, Lincoln; Melissa Langenberg-UNMC, Kearney.

Seventh Row: Hannah Hild-Lexington Regional, Lexington; Elizabeth Gard-OrthoNebraska, Omaha; Tara Finkral-Methodist, Omaha.

Not Shown: Shalea Cotton-UNMC, Omaha; Tyler Hedlund-Methodist, Omaha; Briley Patterson-Nebraska Medicine, Omaha; Chelsea Schweitzer- CHI, Grand Island; Leah Ridder, CHI, Omaha; Payton Cisneros-CHI, Kearney.